The Angel Performance

The Angel Performance

Well-known and unique is The Angel Performance of the Augsburg “Christkindlesmarkt.” Twenty-four angels appear on the beautiful facade of City Hall and transform the building into a huge Advent calendar. The angels appear every Friday, Saturday and Sunday at 6:00 pm. One exception is December 23: On this day the angels appear at 6:00 pm and walk down stairs to the entrance of city hall.

A small peak behind the scenes: The angels are young girls from Augsburg who have been chosen especially for this task. A charming facial expression, graceful movements, musical talent and of course the ability to be free of vertigo are required. And to be sure no accidents occur while the angels stand on the sills of city hall, the mountain rescue team provides for their safety. The Angel Performance was created by the former director of tourism in Augsburg, Fritz Kleiber, in 1977. He was inspired by a painting from Hans Holbein.

Some videos of the Augsburg “Engelsspiel” can be found on the Internet on You Tube. Clearly, these can only relay in part the lovely atmosphere of the performance. No visitor to the Augsburg “Christkindlesmarkt” should pass up the opportunity to see a live performance.

Dates for The Angel Performance

In 2017, the traditional “Angel Performance” on the balcony of City Hall will take place at
6:00 p.m. on the following dates:

Mon. Nov. 27

Fri. Dec. 01 |  Sat. Dec. 02 |  Sun. Dec. 03

Fri. Dec. 08 |  Sat. Dec. 09 |  Sun. Dec. 10

Fri. Dec. 15 |  Sat. Dec. 16 |  Sun. Dec. 17

Fri Dec. 22 | Sat. Dec. 23



Sponsored by

Laxgang - Knusperhäusl